A poem for my long lost love

Yes, my love. You are gone, gone from my life.

Ah, but while you were here our love blossomed. I slept soundly at night, held in your comforting embrace. You always knew how to hold me, supportive.

But that was just how you were, our relationship built on support, the give and take I needed to feel comfortable with you.

From the very first moment I met you, I knew you were meant for me. Made for me even. It was fate that we should meet, that cold February night, so long ago.

The first night I slept with you, it was amazing. Waking up with you, the next morning, I knew this was it. You were the one.

But you were hiding a nasty secret, your dark underbelly, rotting out of site. Maybe it wasn’t there at first, when our love was new. Yet, over time, you hid this side of yourself from me.

And then, finally, when your dark side was brought to light. I cried. I cried, for the loss of trust. The loss of your love. I cried because I knew what must be done.

I must say goodbye to you.

Now that you are gone, my nights are sleepless. I toss and turn trying to find that same comfort again. I wake each morning exhausted, in pain, wishing for your touch again and hating the one who replaced you.

My dearest Serta Memory Foam mattress, why, why did you betray me so…

 

3 Responses to A poem for my long lost love

  1. Gigi says:

    You should feel very sheepish! That was baaaad leading us on that way. Gigi

  2. traceyleezle says:

    Hee, hee. I really miss my old mattress.

  3. unadillabarb says:

    LOL! Loved your poem!

Leave a Reply

