My boss gave me a load of crap…

Well, I called my husband last week to tell him that my boss gave me a load of crap on Friday, and yes I was going to take it from him. Literally, he gave us a load of crap. I work for a tree care service/landscape service and I was telling him about my garden and how full of clay our soil is, to which he replied, “Well, tell Travis to come over with the pick up truck, we’ve got that pile of compost, have him fill it up. That will help out your soil immensely.” So of course when your boss offers you a free load of crap…you take it from him.

I always laugh too, because the landscape crews call it “amendment: “Don’t forget to add some amendment to the soil at the Jackson site.” It cracks me up that old cow poop can be suddenly transformed into something so refined with a simple name change…a rose by any other name…

So here it is Dad! My garden. Aren’t you proud? I have to say despite the clay soil, it’s the nicest garden I’ve ever had. Plus I can eat all the peas I want without hearing you yell, “Hey, get outta there!”

garden.jpg

peas.jpg

beets.jpg

squashflower.jpg

The best part about this garden is how little space it takes up. I apply the Square Foot gardening method and check it out, not counting the 3 watermelon plants which are left to sprawl on the yard as they will, I have 6 4′ X 4′ squares and this is everything that I am growing: cucumbers, carrots, zucchini, yellow squash, sweet corn, green beans, peas, lettuce, cherry tomatoes, roma tomatoes, beets, radishes, spinach, and green peppers. Not bad huh.

 

 

6 Responses to My boss gave me a load of crap…

  1. keanalee says:

    AWESOME! My garden only has some herbs & tomatoes. Next year I hope to get more stuff.

  2. Shannon says:

    That is a really lovely garden. I only grow tomatoes…lots of tomatoes!

  3. Brigitte says:

    Wow, that’s great! I love your garden, you lucky girl! I have to stick to flowers… Something about not being able to load cow poop on my deck. People below may have “issues” with it…

  4. It’s nice to get that good kinda crap from you boss every once in a while.

  5. Mom says:

    Hey! I got my garden planted this weekend now that I have killed off the weeds from last year’s flood. Now I’m trying to find the fence line by pulling out all of the tall grass and then Bill is going to put up a finer mesh fence along the bottom. We’ve been watching a mother bunny and two babies play in the grass in the yard, so Bill doesn’t feel quite right shooting them for being in MY GARDEN! Arrgghhh! When did he get so mushy????

    Love, Mom :))

  6. gigi says:

    We could use some crap too but the County boys were nice enough to dump a truck of chipping stuff I can use for mulch. I dug into it the other day and it is warm down in there. With these cool (45*) nights lately I need something to keep their roots warm to get them growing better. Deer topped a couple of bean plants but they’re still growing! Wild life – – mostly I’m the one who’s wild when they do something like that! Love ya, Gigi

Leave a comment