Where to begin…

It’s been another crazy week at Casa Durf. Last week my MIL had back surgery. She’s recouperating nicely, but is in a lot of pain, which we all knew was expected. The night before hubby wasn’t feeling well and we spent the weekend in and out of the dr’s. office trying to figure out what was going on. This Monday we ended up in the ER all morning while they pumped the hubby full of fluids and ran some tests. Turns out he had a nasty bacterial infection in his gut. The doc started him on an antibiotic and by the next morning hubby was much improved. He’s back to his normal self, which is good, because I really missed his normal self. Speaking of their normal selves, Finnigan is feeling much, much better as well. He’s up and about and getting into everything! He made a very speedy recovery.

Now to something more fibery! Shortly after Finnigan was born there was a discussion between Hubby and I about our little “tax credit”. It went something like this, “I carried our little tax credit for 9 months and pushed him out…I think I should get to spend some of it…on a spinning wheel.” There was a very brief pause and then Travis said, “I think that’s fair.” A very wise answer.

Well two weeks ago (told you it’s been crazy) this Saturday I made a mad dash to The Mannings and brought home this lovely wheel.

Ashford Traveller

Ashford Traveller

It’s an Ashford Traveller and spins like a dream. Right now I am spinnig some silk that is absolutely gorgeous, it’s browns and purple with a dash of black. I can’t wait to see it when it’s plyed. Travis has dubbed me the spinning fool.

Silk from Spunky Eclectic

A gratuitous shot of The Monkey and Bean. We went for a walk the other night and she wore Finn in the new mei tai I made out of a pair of old sweat pants. So cute.

My babies

My babies

10 Responses to Where to begin…

  1. Ida says:

    Ohhhh! Your babies are so cute. Love Finn’s hat, too. How funny that you have a Monkey and a Bean – I sent you a comment a while back because we have “The Bean” at our house…Well, we have a Monkey, too. The Bean is my 11 year old grand-daughter (her name is Mina Belle and when she was still a wee one, her name morphed to Mina Bean). The Monkey is Monkey Matt, my son and The Bean’s Uncle. When The Bean was just learning to talk (she was a wee sprout then) she couldn’t say “Uncle” and called him Monkey Matt, or just “Monkey”.

  2. Kyla says:

    I am so jealous you got a wheel!! I want one! 🙂

    I can’t believe how big Finn is getting!

    Glad to hear everyone is feeling better. Hope you are doing well!

  3. Jane says:

    Oh, the kids are just darling! Look how big Finn is getting. I love my Traveller, too. I really, really need to spin more.

  4. amandacathleen says:

    so glad to hear that everyone is feeling better! Poor things!

    Your wheel is GORGEOUS! If we ever get to the manning’s together we need to bring out wheels and spin on the lawn!

    OMG they are just too cute for words! What an adorable bunch you got there. 🙂

  5. lisa says:

    Who knew that sweatpants could look soooo good! Very inventive. I hear this things cost a lot of money, to purchase. You’ve got to start selling stuff!

  6. Ack, I’m sorry that there has been so much going on, but I’m glad that things are normalizing and settling down for you and your family.

    Jealous x 1,000 in regards to your new wheel. One day… one day I will own one.

  7. Cynthia says:

    oooh! pretty wheel! I haven’t had time to do any spinning lately (or even any knitting) but hope to be back in the groove soon.

    Monkey and Bean look so cute together.

  8. 2trees says:

    LOVE the spinning wheel!

  9. meg says:

    Congrats on the wheel! My Mom called me a spider for my excessive spinning once . . . not sure I like that better than ‘fool’ 😉 Your small folk are definitely cute – especially the smallest with that pointy hat.

  10. Brigitte says:

    Oh, that is a wonderful picture of the Monkey and the Beanie Baby!

    And yay you for the spinning wheel purchase – not only do you get the wheel, but you get yarn too. Win-win, I say.

    All the best to your MIL! I hope she’s up and about soon.

Leave a comment