Gym sock challenge

So the gym opened and I have to say…I love it! I never thought I’d enjoy working out as much as I do. I feel great when I’m done. Granted, I’m sweating my butt off, but I feel great! I put my tunes on and away I go. When I first started I figured I’d work out for half an hour and call it good. I can’t stop! From the time I walk in to the time I walk out I’m usually there for an hour and a half. I’ve been trying to get there at least three times a week. Last week wasn’t so great due to crappy weather and a birthday party.

I’ve picked up cardio knitting, that is knitting while cycling on the recumbent bike. Realistically you can only knit stockinette if you don’t want to muck it all up, so I’ve cast on a pair of stockinette socks. Here comes the challenge. I do my cardio knitting as my cool down at the end of my work out and usually pedal for about 15-20 mins. So, 15-20 minutes of knitting three times a week…this sock isn’t going to move very fast. That’s ok, I’m challenging myself to lose 20 pounds before I finish the socks. We shall see who wins, me or the socks! (And for those of you that know me, I’m using wooden needles to help slow me down and I can’t knit as fast as normal while pedaling, so there!) I’ll post a picture of my sock tomorrow. Right now, I need a shower!

2 Responses to Gym sock challenge

  1. Pooch says:

    Cardio knitting? Really, Tracey? Love it!!

    I think you would be excellent at this Microfiction Monday meme that I’ve been writing, so I’m sending the info to you from the web site. I don’t know if you have time for it. It’s not up there with cardio knitting, but you are so clever (as in your comment about my post) that I’d love to read your quips.

    “About Microfiction Monday

    “Microfiction” means the shortest of short stories. Think Aesop’s fables, comic strips, or even jokes: complete stories that can be told in under a minute. For this game, the limit is a tweetable 140 characters or fewer.

    Every Sunday evening I’ll post my own ‘microfiction’ inspired by a photo or illustration, and invite you to do the same. (If that degree of brevity scares you, feel free to use my own microfiction of the week as your first line instead, and spin something longer. )

    You can leave your story in the comments on the weekly post, or, post your story on your blog and leave your link in Mr. Linky.

    Hate counting letters and spaces? Try Design 215’s character counter, which will count for you as you type. Microsoft Word will count for you too, of course, as part of its word count feature under the ‘Review’ tab.
    Photos will be from my own archives; illustrations are from Dover Publications’ free clipart sample newsletter.

    And finally, why 140? A whole new fiction market has arisen via mobile phone texting and Twitter, who limits ‘tweets’ to 140 characters including spaces and punctuation. It’s fast, it’s fiction, it’s fun.”

    from http://www.stonyriver.ie/p/microfiction-monday.html

    And, Brava, on your gym time!!
    🙂

Leave a comment